While We Were Celebrating

Far be it for me to take away from the joy of Christmas.

I love Christmas, it’s my favorite holiday of the year.

Christmas Eve we open presents, Christmas Day we get gifts from Santa and cook enough food to feed a small army.

But while we are celebrating and arguing with our relatives over politics (don’t deny it, the number of hits this blog got and the google searches that led you here gave you away) the news cycle keeps going and some big stories broke and some merely heartbreaking ones.

The Big

Midnight Mass at a church in northern Nigeria was interrupted by a group of Islamists who shot and killed six Christians before torching the church. So very non-violent.

A “newspaper” in New York  has apparently published the names and addresses of every person in New York  who has a concealed carry permit. The people who should be REALLY pissed right now are those who AREN’T on the list, because this is basically a guide to all burglars on what houses to NOT rob. Thank LoHud.com for suddenly increasing the likelihood that you will be robbed if you don’t have a concealed carry permit. *thumbs up* Not really sure what they were trying to accomplish here, but I’m pretty sure whatever it is, they failed at it.

Chicago, one of the bastions of strict gun control, suffered a rash of shootings on Christmas Eve. Yes, there is something wrong with our society and gun control isn’t going to help that.

DC police are investigating David Gregory of Meet the Press for possibly violating part of DC gun control laws. Whoops. I guess you CAN still buy assault weapon magazines regardless of gun control.

Hamas is planning to break that pesky ceasefire thing with a resumption of suicide bombings in Israel. Merry Christmas!

President Obama is still in Hawaii. 

Bushehr Nuclear Plant, in Iran, is paying the Russian women working their to put on a Hijab. I guess the men can’t get anything done with those women’s hair and forearms distracting them. I know I just lose all focus when I see some pretty forearms. Drives me wild. Iran is, apparently, perplexed that Russian women aren’t keen on doing this, despite the extra pay.

Netflix went down on Christmas Eve, which caused understandable outrage. I would be mad too if I was trying to avoid my relatives by watching old episodes of Seinfeld and then I had no Netflix to use as an excuse to avoid family gatherings.

In China a man rammed a car loaded with a gas tank and firecrackers into a crowd of middle school kids, injuring 13. I guess we need to ban cars, gas cans, and firecrackers, as well as guns. Damn, that’s basically 4th of July weekend for my family.

Feminists might want to take a look at Swaziland. The king (who had 13 wives) has banned miniskirts, low slung jeans, and tank tops because they make it easier for a women to be raped.

The Heartbreaking

In Britain, Children are asking Santa for a dad.

And one child called in to NORAD asking if Santa could bring extra presents so they could give them to the family’s who lost family in Newtown.

These stories actually made me cry, I’m not kidding here. Not as hard as I cried at Les Miserables, but there was sniffling and tears.

____

So that’s what happened while were celebrating our Christmas.

Let’s keep fighting for our freedom and our values in the coming year.

Leave a Reply

