Review of Republicans and Reincarnation

(The author’s blog)

Okay, now that you have read that title and looked at the cover of this book written by Cris A. Pace and you are officially confused, with a repeating phrase similar to “Huh? How does that work?” running through your head. Now I’ll explain what this book is about and why, regardless of your current political or religious views, you honestly need to buy this book.

The book’s subtitle is “The Conscience of a New Age Conservative” and a book like this, first and foremost, highlights the fact that being conservative has nothing to do with your religion.

The author is an English teacher, living in Arizona (my own state), originally from California. He also happens to be a follower of New Age philosophy and a conservative. Even for me, a person who has always believed that politics cannot be chosen for you based on any other part of your life, be that your sexual orientation or your religion, this threw me for a loop initially.

You see, up until I read this book, I was under the impression that New Agers were hippy, tree hugging, uber-liberal  types. Then this book smacked a little common sense into me, because this book does not just reconcile the differences between New Age beliefs and Conservatism. Instead it goes through the basic principles of “traditional” (read: Economic and governmental, not social) Conservatism and then shows how the ideals of New Age beliefs support the ideals of Conservatism.

Regardless of your religious beliefs, this book addresses the views of New Age beliefs in such a common sense and logical way, while also addressing politics and history in such an interesting and, at times, humorous, way that you will never feel like the author is simply trying to force his beliefs on you. That is not, after all, what this book is about. It is about looking at politics through a new lens, so that you can get to the core of what is really important in the government and in your own life.

There is, in my opinion, nothing to dislike about this book. I suppose there might be an issue with it if you are completely and utterly opposed to conservative principles or common sense, but even in that case you should still read the book. If nothing else it will royally piss you off, meaning it is challenging your beliefs in some way and you are undoubtedly learning something new, which is sort of the whole point.

Politically I couldn’t find anything to disagree with in this book. The same goes for historical references and the factual basis for arguments themselves. And, as it should be with any book worth reading, I walked away from Republicans and Reincarnation with new knowledge to consider.

If you value politics, common sense, logic, or…well, essentially if you care about educating yourself in any way at all, you will buy this book.

(Available online at Barnes & Noble and Amazon.com)

8 Comments

  1. This is very interesting and I will probably buy the book. I am normally accused of being a New Ager and I really don’t like it. Although I am very involved in many New Age Beliefs to be called that just puts things in another box with another preconceived title. Everything I believe has been hard thought and hard fought for.

    A really good Psychological paper that describes the reasons why Liberals and Conservatives differ is written by Jon Haidt. It’s called “When Morality Opposes Justice”

    http://faculty.virginia.edu/haidtlab/articles/haidt.graham.2007.when-morality-opposes-justice.pub041.pdf

    He’s a professor and his field is “Moral Theory”. His website is:

    http://faculty.virginia.edu/haidtlab/mft/index.php?t=home

    I understand ten times better why I believe what I believe because of him. More importantly I can finally see Conservatives point of view so much more clearly. Some things they do have right.

    I’m very intrigued also by Conservatism and it’s meaning. A good book to read is Jerry Muller “Conservatism”

    There are actually two types of conservatives according to “Conservatism” by Jerry Muller.

    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=Conservatism+jerry+muller

    There are the orthodox conservatives who believe in varying degrees that their religious beliefs are ordained and then there are regular conservatives who find religion useful for utilitarian ends. Religion helps control and stabilize the masses. It a great book and I like it even though I’m not a conservative.

    Thanks because you may have opened a door to a far greater understanding on my part.

    • I would say there are also conservatives who act on conservatism with no religious reason as well. I, myself am not a religious person per se, but I am a conservative in the political community.

      I’m glad to see you are thinking of buying the book. I don’t write reviews often, but this book is a wonderful one and I’m sure you will love it. Please let me know what you thought of it after you read it.

  2. Hi Meredith, new here. I thought I was the only conservative atheist in the world. I am neither a new-ager nor a ranting “white Christians are the worst people on earth” promoter which I see so much of (and man they’re mean). I just quietly do not believe, never have, and feel it should have nothing to do with politics in the same way as sexuality shouldn’t. I keep hoping for a conservative candidate who does not want to change the history books or force religion on me, but have accepted that I will have to make some personal sacrifices come 2012 because I must put my country before my personal beliefs. I see too many people whose vote for a position of such enormous power is based solely on one point, one issue, one narrow bandwidth of emotion, which isn’t going to help a bit when they foreclose on your house.

    It’s refreshing to read your blog and discover there are others whose worldview is similar to mine. All we’re really looking for is some sanity and reason. Sorry, a little off-topic, but it’s nice to meet you.

    • Well I wouldn’t say I’m an atheist, though I’m certainly not big on organized religion. If I was going to label my beliefs I would be a Deist, if anything. However I know exactly how you feel about the 2012 election and that you feel it’s more important to worry about the country as a whole, rather than just one or two issues.

      It’s very nice to meet you as well. I’m always happy to have new readers. How did you find my blog by the way, I like to see how people find me.

      I really hope you decide to check out the book I reviewed, it’s another great way to see Conservatism without having to deal with all of the Christian views that come with it sometimes.

  3. Sorry, didn’t mean to label you an atheist, what I meant was that atheism is a typically “liberal” belief that puts me at odds with both parties, and that many atheists are defiantly close-minded politically because they place personal beliefs over healing our crumbling country. I’ve written about it and received hate mail from so-called atheists who have a seething hatred of Christians but seem to have no problem with much worse religions. I saw a comment of yours on the Roycroft Report regarding the ridiculous accusation of racism by Morgan Freeman.

    • No need for an apology, I didn’t take offense ^_^. It’s easy to see where people might think I’m atheist from things I say on this blog, but that’s mostly because religion is just so unimportant to me that I rarely feel the need to mention my beliefs.

      Yeah, I can definitely see where being an conservative atheist would put you at odds with people. And liberals, when confronted with people who don’t believe the same things they do (in religion or politics) can get pretty nasty at times.

      I’m a lesbian conservative, which puts me at odds with the gay community most of the time.

  4. Pingback: OccupyPhoenix/Wallstreet/Arkansas/Los Angeles/etc. …really, you think this is a worthwhile use of your time? « The Snark Who Hunts Back

Comments are closed.