Thursday has been a let down really.

Last night my school’s server was hacked and as a result my first class of the day, Politics and Government (which is my favorite class), was cancelled. Of course I didn’t find that out until I got there, since the server is down and none of the teachers can send emails out to their students. So I got there, the professor apologized for having to cancel class because her lecture for today was stored on the server instead of on her own personal jump drive.

So it was a disappointing beginning to my day…a very long day since I am not leaving campus until 10pm..I have an astronomy lab in about 3 hours. A lab that is over 2 hours long. Ugh. So tired! I’m ingesting large amounts of sugar and caffeine over the next few hours so that I can stay awake in class.

Anyway, my next class was not cancelled and here are a few highlights from today’s lecture.

First the class started out with the teacher making fun of the Tea Party. (Not the historical one in Boston, the current Tea Party…just to clarify.) Making fun of their tri-corn hats (I want one of those!), their revolutionary war era outfits (these also look fun), and the fact that, according to him, they only have legitimacy as a political movement because they “romanticize the history of democracy”.

I find that a bit insulting really.

I also wanted to ask him if he believed that Occupy Wall Street had political legitimacy by stomping all over the constitution and what he thought about them defecating on cars and destroying private property.

I didn’t though.

We discussed the history of Democratization in the world, including Samuel Huntington’s description of Democratization as coming in waves. It’s an interesting concept that I think could apply to any number of civil rights movements over the decades as well. In everything from African American, to gay rights. Everything comes in waves that advance and recede over the years, but the tide keeps getting higher and the waves recede a little less each time.

These things take time. I fully believe, in my romantic view of democracy, that eventually democracies will be in every country in the world. We see it happening every day, even if some of the attempts in the last decade or so have gone a bit pear shaped. (Afghanistan, Iraq, Libya, Egypt, etc.)

 

 

He compared Jim Crow laws to Apartheid. Tiny bit of a stretch there I think.

 

 

In the last part of class we discussed the Weimar Republic of Germany, which lasted from 1919 to 1933 before failing completely.

The words from the powerpoint were “from the outset it was beset with problems which led to the eventually collapse of a democratic nation”. Then he asked “if it happened there, could it happen here?”

Maybe it’s my bias, but I think he sounded a bit gleeful at the prospect.

However, I was considering this over lunch and came to the conclusion that the situation in the Weimar Republic was a bit different than ours here in America.

After all they were a fairly new democracy, we are not, which was on shaky legs because of a bad economy caused by exorbitant war reparations, that was in a state of national despair and looking for a leader to find someone to blame for the horrible situation they were in and promise a quick fix to the problem and give them someone to blame.

Wait…

Bad economy, check, charismatic leader, check (at least he thinks so), quick fix to the economic situation (bailouts), and a boogeyman to blame for all our problems (the rich)….

umm….

help….?

5 Comments

  1. That was exactly the sort of crapola that motivated me to transfer from Arizona State to Grand Canyon University. Took me a couple of extra years to get my degree, but it was worth it.

    I don’t know what GCU is like now. Frontline did a hit-piece on it a year or so ago on PBS. Not that I would necessarily regard that as a reason to like my alma mater any less.

      • Well, there were actually several reasons. One was that I just thought ASU was too big. I didn’t feel I was getting as thorough an education as I would have liked. Some of my classes were in auditoriums with 300 students and I just didn’t warm to that. Part of it was the constant distraction of parties and football and the like. I was there to learn, and I didn’t feel like learning took center stage.

        Maybe it’s improved since then. This was over 25 years ago.

        GCU was definitely a different place then — only just moving from college to university status. Classes were small, and though the professors and other instructors were not all Christians, they didn’t trash America in class or denigrate Americans’ cultural heritage. I did hear a lot of that when I was at ASU.

        It’s sad what’s happening to GCU now. I guess it wasn’t good news, after all, when the Southern Baptists sold it.

  2. Drives me nuts how professors get away with so freaking much! It’s like you better be certain to know who you are and what you believe before you enter into school because it’s just a barrage of leftist rhetoric. Who was it that kept saying our children would be reached by the school systems? Someone talked about that would be the first line of covert attack to change our country. Sounds like it’s working. ACK!!

    • That’s why I fully believe that no student should go directly from high school to college. Take a year off, or two. Figure out who you are, outside of your parents and teachers. And I don’t mean a year of fun or backpacking across Europe, I mean, get a job, try to move out, be an adult before you go to college. It’s harder to be brainwashed that way.

Comments are closed.