And another Phoenix Comicon is over =(

The last few weeks have been filled with a job that exhausted me, but I loved and hated to leave.

Changing to a new job, working for an optometry office which will be opening soon.

Getting a girlfriend who is so compatible with me that’s it almost scary.

And of course getting ready for Phoenix Comicon, which is  a yearly event for me. I get to meet new people, connect with old friends, and dress up in crazy costumes.

This year, as well as my normal convention obligations, I ran panels for the first time in my life. It was severely last minute, but I had a hell of a good time being on panels with my fellow Arizona Browncoats.

I have a few pictures to share with my readers, but not many…as my camera disappeared sometime during my most recent move.

I debated some of the finer points of politics in Whedon’s Firefly ‘verse. A lot of fun was had by all three of the panelists and the moderator, who I did not throw a chair at for calling Joss Whedon “the Michael Moore of science fiction”.
I represented the Browncoat/Independent side of the debate, while the panelist in the middle represented the everyday citizen of the ‘verse and the last panelist, on the left, represented the views of the evil, scumbag alliance.
P.S.
I totally won the debate.

Part discussion, part sing a-long. We talked about, listened to, and sang along to some of the fantastic music used in Joss Whedon’s work. Including Dr. Horrible’s Sing A-Long Blog, the musical episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer “Once More With Feeling”, and the music of Firefly.
Here you get to see my costume for this convention, Jill Valentine from the video game franchise Resident Evil.

Picture taken by the Phoenix Comicon media people. I was super glad that they waited until I had finished chewing a bite of my lunch before taking the shot.
Working at the Browncoats booth is always a pleasure. We have so many interesting people come up, some fans of Firefly, some who know nothing about it.

I would include a very nice photo, taken of my girlfriend and I, who surprised me Saturday by showing up to see my panels and asking me to go to Geek Prom with her, but I don’t know how she would feel about that.

 

Anyway, I should be back to posting on a more regular basis in the near future. Once I have beat this nasty case of con crud that I have come down with, despite eating vitamin C like it was candy all weekend.

5 Comments

Comments are closed.