We’re Eating From the Wrong Side of the Mushroom (AKA: Stop Blowing Things Out of Proportion)

I don’t usually play the “gay” card when it comes to my politics, mostly because it’s just not important.

Sure, I play it when I want to make a liberals head explode from having to deal with a Republican who isn’t a “straight, white male” but that’s pretty much it.

I have little to no use for minority or collective politics, that’s why I’m a conservative. I have absolute no need for advocacy groups for my sexuality or gender.

That’s not to say that I don’t like GOProud to a certain extent or that I’m not a member. I do credit them (though more because of Breitbart’s initial involvement with them, than the group itself) with helping me come out of my conservative closet, and I like Jimmy and Chris quite well. I don’t want people getting the idea that I dislike GOProud or what they do…I just don’t always think they are right all the time, just by virtue of being run by gay people. That would be a disservice to them and to my own conservative beliefs.

I appreciate their existence only a little more than I appreciate Heritage, the Goldwater Institute, or CPAC itself. That extra appreciation is given because they stick a thorn in the left’s paw, and that tickles me a bit (that Whedon reference will be more amusing once you read my article for DS&P tomorrow). I enjoy being able to make liberals so annoyed, just by my very existence, and GOProud does the same thing.

But I refuse to participate in this freakout that conservatives and libertarians are having about CPAC “banning” GOProud from it’s events, and I’m doing that as a gay conservative…which maybe has a little more weight on this particular topic.

First of all, I haven’t read anything anywhere that actually alludes to “banning” gay conservative, or members of GOProud, from the proceedings. I’m a member of GOProud, I signed up on their website ages ago, and no person from CPAC has called me to tell that I can no longer attend CPAC because I’m gay.

Let’s get something straight here, CPAC is hosted by a private organization (The ACU) and has (as I understand it) sponsorship from people willing to help pay for the cost of holding the event, in exchange for certain participation in the event. If some sponsors, who give them quite a bit of funding, have a problem with GOProud (which is relatively small and likely to have less funding) being a sponsor, that could jeopardize the event as a whole, which would really suck for me as I’ve already booked my flight, hotel room, and ticket.

This particular way of handling may not be the best, but it’s also understandable from a free market and capitalistic standpoint, which conservatives SHOULD understand.

While some conservatives and libertarians may have an issue with how CPAC and ACU are handling this, we have to realize that members of GOProud have not always dealt with CPAC or member’s of the ACU in the most respectful or rational manner themselves and too many people are overreacting to this situation and placing titles of homophobia and bigotry where they don’t belong.

That, as The Open Door’s guest yesterday said, is a leftist tactic.

We need to remember that we are conservatives, we must be calm and rational and look at this from the perspective of freedom and capitalism and being the bigger man.

You know what I recommend?

Buy a ticket, go to CPAC, be there and show yourself to be a conservative, make friends, network, and make people realize that gay conservatives are as much a part of the conservative political world as anyone else.

You aren’t there to promote the event, as Brodigan said in his latest Misfit Politics post, you are their to promote yourself. Whether you are gay or straight, promote yourself, share your ideas, impress people. Let people see who you are and let that be the influence that changes people.

The ACU has made it clear that gay conservatives are welcome, just as anyone else is welcome at the event, this is not homophobia in action, it’s a

Be the change you want to see, as cheesy as that sounds.

Be respectful and you will earn respect.

A childish tantrum won’t help and I, for one, am choosing to respond to this proportionately.

Taking a bite of that half of the mushroom that will blow everything out of proportion is something that liberals do, not conservatives.

But that’s just my opinion.

I’ll be at CPAC regardless, let me know if you’ll be there and maybe we can get coffee.

10 Comments

  1. Yes, but the problem here is that someone either the ACU or one of their sponsors is turning down money because they do disagree which makes the rest of us easy targets for the left. Idiots like Akin should have taught the right not to do stupid shit like turning down someone who wants to pay for sponsorship. Regardless of how appropriately or inappropriately GOProud is handling this, there are clearly idiots on right who haven’t learned to let these social issues drop because they serve no one but the left and the “swing voters” (read idiots) who only vote on flashy headlines and emotional crap. Maybe we on the right could not make is so easy for the MSM to hit us.

    • True, but these are private organizations offering money and they have the right to give or not give as they see fit.

      ACU is making a decision on the basis of being able to put on the event at all.

      The sponsors may be acting stupidly, but I don’t blame the ACU for making the fiscally responsible decision. GOProud is relatively small and can’t afford much in terms of sponsorship.

    • True, but these are private organizations offering money and they have the right to give or not give as they see fit.

      ACU is making a decision on the basis of being able to put on the event at all.

      The sponsors may be acting stupidly, but I don’t blame the ACU for making the fiscally responsible decision. GOProud is relatively small and can’t afford much in terms of sponsorship.

  2. Meredith, I think I might love you. You hit the nail on the head with this:

    “I have little to no use for minority or collective politics, that’s why I’m a conservative. I have absolute no need for advocacy groups for my sexuality or gender.”

    I’m also a big fan of Jimmy and Chris as people, but I side with you on this issue. Gays can still attend this conference that is being hosted by a private organization. End of story.

Comments are closed.