Things Feminists Hate: Disney Princesses – Cinderella

Cinderella_Special_Edition_OSTThe final post of the “classic” Disney princesses, but never fear, I will be delving into the newer Princesses after I return from Smart Girl Summit.

The original Cinderella film is not my favorite, in interest of full disclosure, so I find it more difficult to get invested in defending it. It’s a very sweet fairy tale, but if I’m going to watch a Cinderella type story, I would much prefer to be watching Ever After with Drew Barrymore.*

But Cinderella gets enough shit in her movie, she doesn’t deserve unwarranted shit from feminists on top of that.

So here I go.

CinderellaFeminist2.jpgNo, no, no, no, no.

Let’s get one thing straight here, Cinderella only stayed in that home of her own free will.

Why? Well that’s left to our imagination, but I would imagine that it had something to do with it being the last place her father was alive, but what do I know about childhood trauma.

Here’s the thing, Cinderella was resourceful, good at cleaning, handy with a needle and thread, presumably good at cooking, with a sweet disposition and good singing voice. Her stepmother wasn’t exerting any force over her to keep her there, she could have left of her own free will and conceivably found employment in any number of better conditions as a maid, cook, or seamstress.

And what, you would prefer that the Prince fell in love with her because of her skill at scrubbing floors and serving breakfast in bed? Wouldn’t that be even more sexist?

I could go on and on about the last part and about all the things that could be going on between the lines in that scene, but let’s just cover the main thing. Cinderella is perhaps the only woman in that ballroom that did not come to the ball to hunt a royal husband. She doesn’t latch on to him, she is quite lovely, and she much sweeter than any of the clingy women who accost him in other parts of the film. That right there would be enough to make most men curious.

Even if she wasn’t trying for it, reverse psychology works quite well on men who are used to women tripping all over themselves to impress them.

And really? You’re complaining that she’s attractive (or that the Prince has a “type”)? So you are acting in jealousy towards a cartoon woman because she’s…pretty?

Wow.

CinderellaFeminist.jpgHere’s another thing, Cinderella doesn’t go to the ball with the intent to meet the prince. She just wants to get some sort of break from her life, a chance to do something amazing and magical for a single evening.

She doesn’t take the gift her godmother gives her for granted, nor does she ask for more or act like a spoiled brat when the magic is over. She goes back to her old life, with a little something to remember the night by, and gets on with her life. A lesson that many people could do with learning. She might have had a hard life, but she did not act as if she was entitled to anything from the prince or her fairy godmother.

Lastly, no amount of loveliness would have saved her if she hadn’t had the sweet disposition and kindness and bravery that inspired extreme loyalty from her friends. The Duke and the Prince would have had no idea that the servant girl in the tower was the lady from the ball if it hadn’t been for her little mice friends who risk their lives for her.

In the end there is no way that such a shallow character, as the one feminists pretend Cinderella to be, could inspire that sort of devotion.

But good job, feminists, at reducing a strong, kind, and sweet character to a one dimensional cut out, made out of make-up and pretty clothes.

___________________

Tune in next week for a guest post on feminist/liberal hatred of Pocahontas. I had to find another person to write it, because I’m mentally scarred by the Disney Pocahontas.

_________________

*Incidentally I’m watching that very movie right now.

5 Comments

  1. I love Ever After! And I’m loving these posts. 🙂

    I’d probably disagree a bit on whether Cinderella was able to leave of her own free will, because if the time frame has anything to do with it, she might have thought that was her only chance at a roof over her head and a regular-ish meal. Women weren’t encouraged to be independent then, and behind the scenes her stepmother might have discouraged her from leaving for that very reason.

    But that’s reading WAAAY more into the movie than necessary. I have boys. Usually, I’m reading way too much into Cars or Monsters, Inc., so this is a nice break! 😉

    • you’re not reading into it too much at all. that’s really just common sense and historical fact: women did not HAVE resources to care for themselves. If she tried to run away and got caught, Heaven knows what horrible things her stepmother would do to her: beat her, starve her, give her even more backbreaking (or humiliating) jobs, sell her to a whorehouse. or even if she did escape, what could she do? another servant job maybe, but who’s to say she’d get hired? who’s to say she wouldn’t be in an equally bad job or worse? if she could not find employment she’d be forced to live on the streets, begging, dying, or basically meeting poor Fantine’s fate. She could get raped or murdered and no one would ever know.

      there’s always the chance she could try to marry for money, but 1) rich men usually wanted other rich women or at least women of good breeding (like Tremaine herself or her daughters), though Cindy being as stunning as she is might be the exception, but 2) then everyone, and I mean EVERYONE (but mostly feminists) would condemned her as a shallow slag using her looks to get out of trouble/being a gold digger.

      So yeah, Cindy really had no choice. she was intelligent and did the right thing.

      • I agree completely. Cinderella was being smart by sticking around in that house. She would have ended up in a worst situation if she would have ran away. Feminist beat on Cinderella because she isn’t a ” bad girl”. Cinderellas unparalelled kindness is what makes her a unique individual.

  2. cindy was always my favorite. She worked her ass off and had a good attitude to her bitch siblings. it’s not her fault she’s so hot and charismatic that the fucking prince fell in love with her after like 4 hours.

  3. I hate to say this, but I’ve always identified with Cinderella. I was abused pretty severely growing up (whipped/beaten), and forced to do all the housework and care not only for my sister, but for my toddler cousin and disabled grandmother, who lived with us. I was expected to get straight A’s in school, and do all the cleaning (dishes by hand, hanging laundry outside), while being responsible for the house and often, the cooking. I don’t even think about the awful names I was called and the cruelty I was subjected to (and the hideous hand-me-down clothes I had to wear), even though I never got in any trouble and did everything I was told. Even worse was the way my mother doted on my much prettier cousins and neighbors’ daughters. She lavished them with clothes and money, paid for their braces, it was really horrible. My poor sister wasn’t abused, but she was horribly neglected, she hid in her room alone all the time, ate and ate, and was morbidly obese and really bullied, but my mother did nothing to help her Eventually, she nearly died from eating disorders. I went to Catholic school and even if teachers noticed, they looked the other way (I was occasionally asked about welts and black eyes, but nothing was ever done to help me.) I escaped to college and my own successful and fun life, even have a family of my own, but still ended up caring for my mother, who was disabled at age 53, in a wheelchair by her mid-sixties, and dead at 71. It’s very difficult to explain how and why a person would stay and help their abuser, but unless you have had it happen to you, you’d never understand. And poor Cinderella, her sad story happened in a time that women couldn’t just leave, go to college on scholarship and get a job as I did. A woman would end up on the street and likely a prostitute. It was sad to me that Cinderella’s last words to her cruel stepmother were “I forgive you.” Those were my last words to my mother when she died.

Comments are closed.