They’re Even Reading About Tyler Weaver in Polish!

I wasn’t going to write a follow-up on the Tyler Weaver story, but then I found that a Polish website had linked to my article on the reading competition throw-down in Hudson Falls, New York.

Screenshot 2013-08-23 at 4.31.14 PM

That article generated the same amount of website traffic, from more areas of the world, in 3 days that my entire blog generates in a month.

You go Tyler.

The story may seem small, in the grand scheme of things I didn’t write about it because it was a big story, but it was indicative of a general attitude that pervades our country these days.

Those that are exceptional, those to succeed too much, should “step aside” and let the little people win occasionally. Except that’s not the way to create a successful nation. The success of our country is built on competition, not hamstringing the best members of our society to make others feel more successful.

 

3 Comments

  1. Have you seen the Georgia Tech “Welcome Freshman” speech some guy did, backed by the theme from 2001: A Space Odyssey? (I know the original name for that song, but not how to spell it, so I’m going with the above.) HE knows what it’s all about! 🙂 I heard it on the radio one day, and wanted to fist-pump the air, because he was RIGHT. Even if it was Georgia-Tech specific. 🙂 Shove the pooh-poohers aside on your way to greatness!

Comments are closed.