#BurnTheCard: I refuse to give you my voluntary cooperation

(most of this was originally posted on my tumblr, but I wanted it on here as well)

FreedomWorks has reached the same point as me on the issue of Obamacare. They have started to work on a program called Burn the Card, which is:

This is a symbolic gesture to refuse government coercion by not purchasing health insurance through the exchanges. This doesn’t mean we want students to go without health insurance, we just want their insurance to actually be affordable, and most of all, voluntary. Students can purchase health insurance from a third party, an option that is not only legal, but in most cases, much cheaper.

The most exciting part is that we’re taking this message to college campuses. We’re partnering with Young Americans for Liberty; the largest pro-liberty organization on college campuses in the country, and the College Republicans. We are encouraging student groups to send us their best video of them burning their cards and simply saying no to government coercion. We also need them to educate their fellow students about ObamaCare.

Jeff Scully (via FreedomWorks)

Okay, so I actually may have reached a step further on my “can’t even” scale than they have, because I’ve reached the point where I stick my tongue out at the government and say “I’m not going to buy this and I’d like to see you try to make me pay the fine for it”.

What are you going to do about it Obama?

Garnish my wages?

HAHAHAHA! You can’t get blood from a stone.

Put a lien on my property?

I have no property morons. No house, no car, not a single thing for you to confiscate or put a lien on.

Confiscate my tax return?

*shrug* Okay.

Put me in a minimum security security prison against constitutional rules about debtor’s prison?

Oh please do. I’ll get 3 square meals a day,  a bed, and probably a cake decorating class and yoga.

Not to mention free healthcare. Shooting yourself in the foot there.

You can’t do anything to me at this point.

So the jokes on you I guess.

I took a little lesson from both Martin Luther King jr. and Henry Rearden of Rearden Steel.

Civil Disobedience and refusing to give the government your voluntary cooperation in your own destruction.

“That is the flaw in your theory, gentlemen,” said Rearden gravely, “and I will not help you out of it. If you choose to deal with men by means of compulsion, do so. But you will discover that you need the voluntary co-operation of your victims, in many more ways than you can see at present. And your victims should discover that it is their own volition – which you cannot force – that makes you possible. I choose to be consistent and I will obey you in the manner you demand. Whatever you wish me to do, I will do it at the point of a gun. If you sentence me to jail, you will have to send armed men to carry me there – I will not volunteer to move. If you fine me, you will have to seize my property to collect the fine – I will not volunteer to pay it. If you believe that you have the right to force me – use your guns openly. I will not help you to disguise the nature of your action.”

– Hank Rearden (Atlas Shrugged)

So who’s with me? I hope you all are, because we have to be together on this. That’s the only way civil disobedience can work.

You just have to stop being afraid of what they can do to you and then they no longer have power over you.

If you are working toward a principle and you refuse to given in to their threats and bullying and endless paperwork and anger, eventually they realize they have lost the cooperation of the people. Their only option from there is force and then they have truly lost.

