Orson Scott Card and I Go Way Back

9780812550702_custom-14b6b3e2b8be027acc868fa0aba0670be8900168-s6-c30Well not really.

I’ve never met the man.

I doubt I would have any serious problem with him if I ever met him, though I bet we would have some impressively long-winded debates on our differing views.

My relationship with Card’s books goes back far too long and I like books he’s written far too much to really let his views of homosexuality personally offend me or cause me to boycott him.

enchantmentI first read an Orson Scott Card book when I was 11 years old and I was first getting into Fantasy and fractured fairy tales. My older brother had a soft-cover copy of Enchantment in his bookshelf, which I pilfered and never returned to him.

I still have it on my own bookshelf, 12 years later, pages yellowed and getting a bit brittle.

I love that book a lot and I received a copy of Ender’s Game for Christmas that same year.

My dad was always trying to get me to read Science Fiction, but I didn’t have a taste for it so I left the book to gather dust for a couple of years.

At 13 I read it and I loved it.

The story grabbed me and sucked me in and I read it as fast as I could. It was Enchantment all over again and I carried it with me all over the place.

Of course when I finished it I tried to read one of the sequels and the less said about that the better (other readers of the series may or may not agree with me on that) and I found that I didn’t really like many other Science Fiction books either, much to my father’s disappointment.

It was just that book.

Unlike many other people I was not “waiting forever” for Ender’s Game to be made into a movie. I’ve been skeptical since it was announced and I still am, having not gone to see it yet. One of my favorite things about the books was that it was so internal, so much about the Ender growing up and mentally dealing with how to navigate the world he was thrust into.

I couldn’t see how that feeling and story telling could be preserved on film.

I’m holding out hope that it will be good though.

And yes, I am going to see it, because frankly I don’t give a rat’s ass about Card’s view of homosexuality or gay marriage.

The truth is that I would read his books even if he called me a “dyke” upon finding out I was a lesbian. I read books based on what I like and what I think is well written and I generally don’t care about the political or social views of the writer, unless they are so overpowering that I can’t ignore them. (I would consider that a poorly written book, fyi.)

I learned in 2011 that I shouldn’t ever follow the twitter accounts of the writers I love, because in all likelihood I won’t agree with them politically and I don’t want those views to tarnish my love of their books.

I met Elizabeth Moon at a reading she did in Atlanta for the newest book in a series that has been a favorite of mine for years. At the end of the reading she reminded everyone that she had twitter and I immediately went to check it out.

She was posting pro-Obama tweets.

I unfollowed her.

I didn’t throw out my copy of The Deed of Paksenarrion though and I still wouldn’t throw it out even if she was calling conservatives morons and working for Organizing For Action.

Why?

Because the books she writes are special to me. It doesn’t matter to me that she supported a complete moron for President.

If someone made a movie for the series I would be cheering it on the entire way and I’d be there for the midnight showing.

I’ve had similar reactions to learning the political leanings of musicians and actors and other writers.

The key here is that I’ve learned to ignore it and judge their work for it’s merit and how much I enjoy it. If I refused to listen, read, or watch anything that was made by a person who had an opinion I thought was stupid then I would be missing out on a whole world of wonderful literature, music, and movies.

What’s the point?

 

3 Comments

  1. You are absolutely right and wise beyond your years. I am old and getting rather set in my ways and sometimes have a difficult time ignoring those things (especially when they are exceptionally moronic). I go back to when Ender was first published and some of my dearest memories are of reading the Alvin series to my son. Going to see the movie tonight…fingers crossed.

  2. yeah….I’ve had to avoid looking at the personal views of 90% of the writers, singers, and artists I like–for the same reason. I still love their works, but god, just ONE MORE pro-obama bit, or feminazi bit, and I’m bound to get an aneurysm, I swear. I loved Ender’s Game. I read it when I was much older (I just don’t read scifi) and I just consumed it in a night–a terrible night that left me sobbing at the end (and with very little sleep for work that morning). I didn’t regret it, and during the tour, I read it at least 3 more times…

  3. This describes many people I follow on tumblr as well. They may be liberals or raging feminists or one of those “lol privileged people are automatically shitty people” types, but they have a good sense of humor and share my fandoms and (for the most part) are generally friendly. So I *usually* gloss over their social justice bullshit. Unless they become obnoxious about it and it overpowers their good posts. I have unfollowed for that reason a couple times…
    But yea, unless they force their political views into their works, I see no problem with appreciating an artists works despite their differing views.

Comments are closed.