Making Mountains Out of Molehills: Bibles labeled “Fiction” and Christmas Celebrations

Photo via St. Louis CBS from Mary Margaret Meyers-Walker

Photo via St. Louis CBS from Mary Margaret Meyers-Walker

There’s a table of beautiful bound books at Barnes and Noble. They are all “classics” (which means whoever made them thinks that people will spend more money for a pretty hardback cover) and I have bought a couple of them. I bought the Grimm’s Fairy Tale collection for my sister one Christmas and I got myself the collected Sherlock Holmes stories (though I already had 2 other copies…I may have a Sherlock Holmes obsession) a couple of years ago.

On the Barnes and Noble webpage they are referred to as the Leathebound Classics series.

I, and my friend Conservative New Ager, sometimes laugh over the choices that someone made on what books to offer in this series. How many people really want a leather bound copy of Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles, Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, or Gray’s Anatomy.*

One of the books offered is the King James Version Bible. The cover is sort of pretty, but since I look with ultimate disdain upon the KJV translation I would never buy it.

Anyway, this book is part of a series that is published by Canterbury Classics and lots of bookstores (or places like Costco who sell books) have them on their shelves, usually all together on one table and they are usually all priced the same. This caused some outrage recently when shoppers at a couple of CostCo’s found these copies of the Bible surrounded by copies of Grimm’s Fairy Tales and other fiction books and theΒ BiblesΒ were also labeled as fiction on the price tag.

SHOCK. HORROR. CONSPIRACY!

As a former retail worker, let me tell you that when I got a shipment in that needed to be labeled with a price tag and I knew the entire shipment was the same price, I entered a “set it and forget it” state of mind with my labeling. In other words I set whatever label machine I was using with the right price and I started labeling and immediately turned my brain off until the task was done. My point being that anyone doing this labeling job probably set the price at “$14.99” and “Fiction” and went from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland all the way through Wuthering Heights without registering the fact that they might have been labeling a non-fiction or religious book.

This isn’t a conspiracy to invalidate your religion or your holy text, I’m about 99.999% certain of that fact.

The problem is that all these people are getting all offended about it and turning something simple and unimportant into a national news story.

This stupid story made the Drudge Report people.

Stop it.

I’ve often written about how stupid I find it when Atheists freak out about religious Christmas decorations or celebrations or “In God We Trust” on dollar bills or “Under God” in the pledge of allegiance. My older brother used to say that this made him feel, because of his atheism, like a second-class and marginalized citizen.

I laughed in his face.

He was making mountains out of molehills when he should have just calmed down and stopped being so easily offended.

Maybe that’s what you all need to do about this so called “controversy” over price tag labels on a table of books at CostCo.

Really now, this is embarrassing. Costco had to go so far as to pull the books, make some poor schmuck do the mind-numbing task of relabeling them all, and apologize for something that should never have been such a big deal in the first place.

Seriously, we have much more important things to be worried about at this point in time.

_______________________________

*Not the show, the medical text.

2 Comments

  1. Apparently it’s happened in St. Louis too. No conspiracy, but a more widespread oversight. If true, I don’t know if it’s because of a “set it and forget it” mentality. Not something to boycott over or anything, but an oversight that should be fixed by Costco. Just put “religion” on the tag. Easy enough.

    • Even the other store in St. Louis doesn’t convince me that this wasn’t just a case of an entire series of books from the some company wasn’t tagged in a hurry by someone who wasn’t looking at the titles closely.

      Even if it was intentional, it’s not something anyone needs to freak out over. We have so much more to worry about that is actually important.

Comments are closed.