“It’s the Thought That Counts”

downloadOkay, I hate to be that person right after Christmas, but I was just thinking about this today.

It’s too late for it to be useful this year, but maybe this will save someone from the dreaded ugly sweater/gift card to some place random/weird re-gift present next year.

(In case my mom is reading this: Mom, this isn’t passive aggressive. You, as always, knocked it out of the park on Christmas presents this year! I mean I told you not to get me anything and you still got a bunch of stuff, so consider your present duty over for the next year. Birthday presents? What are those?)

When someone gets you a crappy present the usually thought process is “Well…it’s the thought that counts” but honestly unless the person is a slightly senile family member or a co-worker who barely knows you or a small child, the fact that they got you a crappy gift says a lot about how much their thoughts count.

I put a LOT of thought into gifts.

For my mom’s birthday I planned for nearly 6 months what I was going to get her.

I fly by the seat of my pants a little more for Christmas, but I never get something for someone that they don’t need/want. What would be the point?

So, sure, it’s the thought that counts.

If that thought clearly says “I forgot you existed” or “I grabbed the first thing in the bargain bin” or “I bought you a Fry’s gift card when I was grabbing a bottle of wine on my way to Christmas dinner” then that says a lot about the person.

So don’t be the person who thought basically tells someone that they weren’t worth your time.

If all else fails, visa sells gift cards that can be used anywhere.

No one wants a gift card from the grocery store.

Just a little advice for next Christmas.

2 Comments

  1. I have to reply to this because this has happened to me from gift(s) I’ve received on multiple occasions from certain family members (who shall remain nameless) that have managed to give me things STILL in their packaging. Not only that but they are gifts that I know for a fact were things you get as a “freebie” when you order something from a catalog or that you see at a $.99 store.

    Now, for years I’ve not really cared that this has been going on for a LONG time. But my mom actually apologized to me this Christmas for the lack of thought that went into what I and my bro got from these family members. How sad is that?! She realized how long this was going on and made up for it in her own amazing way.

    But I’m at an age now where I’ve decided NOT to get gifts for people who blatantly show how much they DON’T care about me enough to even get me something they know I could and would use. Heck, even my BOSS got me a $25 gift card to B&N and a $15 to Starbucks because she knows I read ALL the time and I go to Starbucks a lot during the holidays! My boss is more considerate than my own family?!

    As you said, a gift card works! But to get me a heating pad, a fanny pack, and a one handed glove/wallet?! I’m over it and they were promptly put where I don’t have to see them ever again. That just means less people I have to worry about for the holidays. Oh and this applies for birthday as well. Those gifts are even better!

    But Tis the Season to think of happier things and times…

    Sorry for the rant! Had to let it out where I know they couldn’t possibly see this! lol

  2. Pingback: Sunday Links: Facebook Friends Edition, Volume 91 - Conservative Hideout 2.0

Comments are closed.