Don’t Be A Jackass When Stores Allow You To Bring in Guns

I like Chipotle. I liked it when they allowed you to bring guns into their locations and I still like them now that they’ve changed their mind. I like their food and I’ll continue to eat there unless I find out that they are actually serving dog meat instead of steak or something of that nature.

Frankly I don’t blame them even a little bit for changing their policy on carrying guns into their stores at this point.

Why? Because the people who brought in large firearms are just being jackasses.

We get it, you can carry those weapons, it’s legal. Hooray! I like those types of firearms just fine myself, wouldn’t mine owning a handful so I can defend my property and my family and take them out shooting, because shooting is fun!

But I’m not going to tote them with me to the mall or take them into a restaurant with me.

Why? Because even if I can it’s kind of a jerk thing to do, one you know will probably make people a tad bit uncomfortable. I’m as pro-gun as you can get and if I saw a guy or girl toting their AR-15 into a restaurant, I’d feel a little weirded out, not because I think they are going to shoot up the place, (since anyone with a brain realizes that if mass murder is their plan, a sign telling them to not bring in a gun isn’t going stop them) but simply for the reason that it’s not a useful weapon in an enclosed space.

Also they serve no reasonable purpose in the confines of a small restaurant.

See the reason I want to carry a gun into a restaurant is so that I can protect myself and guns like the ones that were brought into Chipotle (the ones that caused the idiotic Moms Demand Action group to lose their pea sized brains) aren’t actually all that good for protecting yourself in a small enclosed space like a restaurant or for fighting a single armed gunman.

It doesn’t look like the two men in this photo were expecting to be attacked by a group of gunmen while they enjoyed their burritos and while I suppose such an incident is possible,  I wouldn’t think that it’s highly probable. 

Don't be a jackass, these guys...jackasses.

Don’t be a jackass, these guys…jackasses.

Which means these guys were just gleefully bringing in large guns, rather than weapons that would actually be of benefit to protect themselves and others, especially considering the likelihood that a gun like that would have a high chance of causing collateral damage in a fight. Going from their grins and the stupid grandstanding way they are showing off in the picture, I’d say the thoughts going through their head were more “haha, look at us getting to piss off these anti-gun people!” rather than “we are responsible gun owners who want to be able to defend ourselves should we need too.”

In short, don’t be a jackass just because a place of business is allowing guns on their premises. Use a little common sense so that you don’t ruin this for the rest of us, who just want to carry our handguns like reasonable human beings.

__________

Then against maybe this whole picture was staged by Moms Demand Action…I’d say that’s both possible and probable, but the lesson here is still the same.

Don’t be a jackass with your guns.

3 Comments

  1. Eh, an AR-15 would do better in close than you might think. They pretty much all have nice collapsing stocks now plus a short as your allowed to own 16 in barrel so the over all length wouldn’t be too bad. Plus a handgun is no substitute for the power and accuracy of a rifle especially when your scared and shaking, having that stock to lean into is going to help steady your aim.

    All that aside I still agree with you, anyone that overtly displays a weapon in public is an idiot that is asking for trouble. You’re not being edgy or rebellious by lugging your rifle into Chipotle your just a jackass that wants to cause a scene that might end with you being arrested.

    • You likely have more experience with a rifle than I do, so I’ll believe you.
      I know that my dad’s experience with them led him to tell me about the issues of collateral damage, which would still be an issue if you started firing an AR-15 in a small restaurant…It would truly suck to shoot a bystander because the bullet passed through the villain and hit someone else.

  2. Are you aware that in Texas, it is illegal to Openly Carry a hangun in public?

    Are you aware that in Texas, 18 to 20 year old adults can not get a Concealed Handgun License unless they are active duty military?

    The Open Carry Texas group is conducting walks and activities to highlight those facts. It is legal to Openly Carry a rifle or shotgun.

    Are you aware that the Chipotle in question welcomed the Open Carry Texas group with no complaints or issues? The chain responded to Moms Demanding Action’s trying to shame Chipotle for letting people exercise their legal rights?

    I’d feel a little weirded out, not because I think they are going to shoot up the place, (since anyone with a brain realizes that if mass murder is their plan, a sign telling them to not bring in a gun isn’t going stop them) but simply for the reason that it’s not a useful weapon in an enclosed space.

    One of the goals of Open Carry Texas is the normalization of carrying firearms in public; either openly or concealed. Your reaction “not because I think they are going to shoot up the place” is exactly what they are trying to get the majority of people to realize.

    I find it interesting so many people automatically assume bad behavior on the part of these guys; nothing reported in the media could show that. Not a single customer called the police, the store didn’t complain to them (at the time) and served them willingly. It is the law that Chipotle could have simply asked them to leave (criminal trespass if they didn’t) and chose not to do so.

    The group had lunch, posed for pictures and left. It was only later when the P.R. professional running Moms Demanding Attention twitted the picture did anyone take notice.

    Bob S.
    3 Boxes of BS

Comments are closed.