Elementary Politics: An Open Letter to “Feminist” Taylor Swift

Taylor, Taylor, Taylor. Look, I like your music. I’m going to continue liking your music for a very long time, I have no doubt. However, you are not impressing me with this new facet of your personality. You know, the one where you have decided to embrace this shallow modern “feminism” that your friends Lena Dunham and Emma Watson have impressed upon you.

You’ve bought their rhetoric, you believe that feminism is about equality. Okay, I can let you have that point. You want to care about equality for women? That’s great.

Only Lena Dunham and Emma Watson, from all the evidence I can see, have a very narrow and shallow view of what the most urgent issues of equality are and where we need to address them.

I think you can do better.

Read More

An open letter to Taylor Swift (and any other feminist listening) on how they could improve the world and do something useful with feminism.

