Conservatives, Stop Answering Irrelevant Questions About Gay People.

choiceIs homosexuality a choice?

Well as a lesbian let me tell you, it’s not. I’m not going to get into the ‘TMI’ part of explaining how I know that for certain, but suffice to say I shopped and bought on both sides of the store and only one side had any outfits that worked.

But I’m not here to bash you over the head with that. I’m used to the fact that not everyone is going to agree with me all the time and I don’t care whether you think I was born this way or chose it.

What I am here to say is that, for real conservatives, that question should be the most irrelevant question in the world.

When I talk about conservative beliefs I mean beliefs that center around small government and freedom, just like our Founding Fathers would have wanted. Now our Founding Fathers did come from a time where being gay was not socially acceptable, but they also didn’t build our government or our constitution around their particular views of morality on specific issues.

They did this for a reason.

No matter what the societal expectations may be, the government should not be created to enforce those views.

The Founding Fathers valued freedom, so did all the other people who fought to create this country. They wanted a government that interfered as little as possible in the lives of the people it governed.

“Give me liberty or give me death” ring any bells?

So here’s the thing. I don’t care if you think being gay is a choice or an immutable genetic fact or just a “phase” because the only answer that should cross your lips when asked “do you believe being gay is a choice?” should be:

 I believe in freedom and the rights of the individual to live as they wish as long as they aren’t harming anyone else. Whether it’s choice or not, they should have that freedom.

That’s it.

That’s the answer.

And if you can’t answer it that way, you aren’t really a conservative and I certainly don’t need you in government if you aren’t capable of putting the individual liberty of the people ahead of your own personal views on a topic.

Is homosexuality a choice? Who cares, because I’m free to choose if it is. It shouldn’t change anything for conservatives, because freedom (even for those we disagree with) is the entire reason we fight.

8 Comments

  1. I respect your choice to love whomever you please. As a conservative can I also expect that homosexuals will accord me the same respect in the marketplace? If I choose not to do business with a gay couple, or with anyone else for that matter, for any reason at all, can we all accept that this is my right? Basically, if you are not free to discriminate, then you are not free at all.

  2. I’m glad to see that you and Mel are still active. I really do wish that the political Right would develop a more proactive arm. There truly isn’t anything un-conservative about equal treatment under the law for minorities, or about dealing realistically with issues many conservatives avoid facing. You two are both doing exactly that. Kudos.

    P.S.: I just tried to go back and take a gander at what’s going on at Gay Patriot, and my antivirus warned me that it is infected with a Trojan virus, or worm, or whatever that is. If you still communicate with them by email, would you let them know so they can get it cleaned out?

Comments are closed.