Hypocrisy, Thy Name is Values Voter Summit

Few things on the “conservative” side of politics annoy me more than the Values Voter Summit. I can’t think of a time where they have added something truly conservative (or useful) to the political climate of the country.

However, a couple of things worth noting happened at the summit this year and they are things that pretty much sum up what I dislike about the demographic that the this group appeals to. The Values Voter summit is built by, and for, a demographic I like to refer to as “Progressive for Jesus” (if you’ve read this blog much you’ve seen me use this before, if you are new then this refers to a subset of “social conservatives” that feel that their religion and morals should be forced onto the rest of the country via big government style legislation…they share a lot more in common with progressive ideology than conservative). This is the demographic you are likely to hear making claims like “This is a Christian nation”, because they think their religion somehow gets special privilege to control the nation due to the incorrect belief that some of the founding fathers believed in their version of God and/or went to a church similar to their own.

If you can’t tell, I don’t care for this type of person much.

They are prone to extreme hypocrisy and nothing highlights that better than what happened at this year’s conference.

During Ben Carson’s speech (Carson, I might add, came in second in the Values Voter straw poll, clearly they like him somewhat), he said:

I said anybody from any faith, from any belief system who comes to America, becomes an American citizen, embraces our American values and principles and is willing to subjugate their beliefs to our Constitution is somebody I have no problem with.

Anybody who doesn’t fit in that category, I don’t care who they are—they can be a Christian—if they don’t fit in that category, I’m not going to advocate that they be president of the United States. It’s as simple as that.*

This, in case you didn’t know, met with quite a bit of applause.

I thought very little of this initially, mostly because I realized that the entire kerfuffle over Carson’s commentary on whether a Muslim can be the President was just one instance in a long line of gaffes on his part (this is a man who said that prison makes people gay and that the Roman Empire fell because of gay marriage, I’ve stopped saying “they’re having an Akin moment” and replaced it with Carson at this point) and I’ve just started rolling my eyes at him.

Then I saw this headline.

“Kim Davis Gets An Award For Breaking The Law To Discriminate Against Gay People”

I usually won’t touch Huffington Post without a hazmat suit on, but I clicked the link anyway…because I’m a masochist, clearly. Imagine my surprise when I realized that Davis had recieved said award from the very same organization, on the very same day, where the crowd had just cheered for a presidential candidate who spoke out on the need for elected officials to be willing to subjugate their beliefs to the constitution.

I know, I know, you’ll say “but where is gay marriage in the constitution! It’s not constitutional!” and sure, no where in the constitution does it mention a right to gay marriage. I’m not going to debate you on that, but they Supreme Court has had their say and realistically it’s the law of the land unless somehow an amendment to the consitution is passed on the issue.**

So what happened to subjugating personal beliefs when it comes to Davis?

To close, let me leave you with a Bible verse.

 So you must be careful to do everything they tell you. But do not do what they do, for they do not practice what they preach. They tie up heavy, cumbersome loads and put them on other people’s shoulders, but they themselves are not willing to lift a finger to move them. – Matthew 23:3-4

_____

*We’ll just ignore the fact that this clearly means that Carson shouldn’t be advocating for himself as president based on that statement.

**Yeah, like that’s going to happen.

