The Trials and Tribulations of Being a Single, Gay Conservative

So I wrote this a while back for another blog series on conservative dating, but I recently found out the website where it was hosted is no longer active…it took me a while to find my rough draft to repost it.

____

I have been single for that last three years. Before that I was single for nearly a year. Before that…well let’s just say there is a pattern.

Make no mistake, I’m not defined by who I date and I don’t need a relationship to complete my life. I have plenty of great friends that I would not trade for the world, but friends can’t fill in every gap left by being single.

I’m not talking about sex, get your mind out of the gutter. Y’all need Jesus.

There are so many ways that a romantic relationship is beneficial to a person, but for some people it’s really hard to find “the one” that we were promised by every Disney movie we grew up with.

I’m not single by choice, I would certainly like to have a long term relationship, but being a conservative has really killed my love life.

I guess the problem is that I am consistently looking for a long term relationship, rather than just part time dates to pass the time. If I want someone to take me to dinner and a movie, I have my best friend.

So I remain single while I keep looking for “the one.”

se-analyzeI’ve probably spent just as much time looking at dating profiles online in recent years as I have spent looking at houses in the last 6 months and I have found that there is a lot of similarity between looking for a healthy relationship and looking for the house you want. Both are long term investments (in either money or time) and both involve a certain amount of compromise.

If I had unlimited money or an unlimited pool of dating prospects, there would be no reason to compromise on anything. I could find the absolute perfect match for me and never have to worry again.

Unfortunately life does not work like that for most people.

So here’s how I look for a house. I made a list of everything I wanted in a house and then I took a long hard look at it and cut away anything that was negotiable, which left me with a pretty short list of “absolutely must haves”. Which included a pool, at least a 9,000 square foot lot, at least 1900 square feet of house, and 3 bedrooms. Anything else I can work on and improve, but some things are just necessary for a home to be livable from the start or are just impossible to change later.

I have done the same thing with relationships. Though how much you want to listen to me is debatable…after all I am single.

My list is short and to the point.

  1. intelligent
  2. conservative or right leaning libertarian
  3. doesn’t do drugs
  4. attractive (in my opinion)
  5. sense of humor
  6. wants kids (and this one is not fixed in stone even)

Everything else is negotiable. I don’t care if we like all the same books or music or movies, as long as we can agree on a few things we enjoy doing together. I don’t need them to always agree with me or like the exact same food or tv shows. That stuff is negotiable. We will find things we have in common over the course of a relationship and find interests we both enjoy, even if I have to order anchovies on her half of the pizza or she can’t stand that I actually like Love Actually.

I’m willing to compromise on just about anything, just not those 6 things, because without those 6 things a relationship could never be long term, unless I was prepared to be miserable.

You would think that my list, as short as it is, would be easy to find. I should have dinner invitations all the time, after all I am a fairly attractive woman. I’m smart, can hold a good conversation, and I clean up nice.

Unfortunately I am also a lesbian, which makes this list a little harder to fit to my small pool of dating applicants.

Less than 3 percent of the U.S. population identify themselves as gay, lesbian or bisexual, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reported Tuesday in the first large-scale government survey measuring Americans’ sexual orientation.

Let’s just think about that for a second and do a little math.*

The population of the United States is around 313.9 million.

3% of that is about 9.4 million.

Since around 51% of the United States population is female, that leaves about 4.8 million who are lesbians in the United States.

Now while the percentage of conservatives in the United States is pretty good, within the minority of the gay community the percentage seems to be pretty small. I’ll be generous and assume that 25% of my fellow gay women are also conservative.

That leaves me with 1.2 million gay, conservative women in the United States and the likelihood that I’m attracted to all of them is pretty low. I’m probably going to find around 50% of them attractive.**

600,000.

That’s what I’m left with. In truth the number is fairly low and given that I only get along with about 50% of the conservatives I meet and, while I consider myself attractive, that does not mean that every woman I’m attracted to will also find me attractive. For various reasons, the true number of women in my dating pool just gets smaller and smaller.

What’s a gay conservative to do? Especially a gay conservative that is naturally introverted and politically outspoken.

Basically…I’m screwed.

Even at CPAC, a place that is almost literally crawling with conservatives (many of whom fit all 6 of my specifications), I’m dateless.

Gay conservatives, female or male, are basically Unicorns.

I was never the type to announce my sexuality when I was younger. I didn’t do the whole “I’m here, I’m queer” bit and I certainly didn’t have any pink triangles or rainbows in conspicuous places on my person, but now I feel like I need to wear a sign that says “lesbian, conservative, single, please apply here to date me”. It’s not about shoving my sexuality in anyone’s face, it’s just a slight tinge of desperation.

Maybe it would easier if I just didn’t care about the politics of who I dated, but I want to date someone who I can see a future with and there is no future with a liberal for me. I spend my free time mocking liberals and doing my best to prove how absolutely wrong they are and that does not sound like a healthy relationship to me.

The last time I made the mistake of dating a liberal, she told me that my political beliefs were “embarrassing” and this was before I was as far right as I am now.

I’ve had people say that I have unrealistic expectations and I should just lower my standards just a little, but why should I do that? I know what I want and respect myself enough to know that I’m worth the kind of person that I am looking for.

The thing about being a conservative, whether you are gay or straight or male or female, is that we know that lowering our standards is never the answer.

What is the answer then? I ask myself that same question every day and I’m beginning to think the answer may be cats…lots of cats.***

___

*This is highly unscientific, basically I’m just throwing numbers at a wall for effect. Whatever.

** Again, I’m being rather generous here.

***Actually more likely to be lots of dogs.

6 Comments

  1. My cat-count is currently at two. Your post resonated with me – unfortunately. My friend pool even began to shrink amidst my conservative awaking.

    Back in the day when I was young and thought I HAD to be liberal because, hey, I’m gay, and only heteros can be conservative, right? The media tells me so…

    But standing up and speaking out (conversationally, mind you, not “I’m here and I’m conservative!”) on my other-than-liberal values got me shunned and light a few “friends”.

    With certain friends I’ve learned to leave the politics in my pocket and slyly slip away should the conversation go that way. In an intimate relationship, I’m not willing to take a little longer in the bathroom. I cannot snuggle up to someone who thinks Hilary is stupendous largely because she is rumored to have ovaries.

    So, what does a single unicorn do? I feel we’re nearly as rare as albino unicorns, actually.

    I’ve been seriously considering packing up camp and moving south – THE south. More conservatively saturated, maybe. Ah, but then how many datable lesbians would I find?

    Good luck in your quest.

  2. hi. same problem here. current dog count: 2. is there no hope for people like us? maybe we could start up a site of our own? i know that for now, we’re probably only a half a dozen miserable unicorns world-wide, but it’s a start.

Comments are closed.